donatenew

Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me
  • Page:

TOPIC: Work Problems

Work Problems 5 years 5 days ago #1778

• jhan
  • Junior Boarder
I am a teacher and suffer from neck dystonia. Last year I took out a grievance against my headteacher over the offensive things that he said when taking money off me in a restructure. Even though we showed that correct procedures were not been followed we lost this part of the grievance. We did however win another part of the grievance related to my disability with regards to name calling by students. Being called 'Noddie' on a corridor by children I do not teach is pretty degrading, doubly so when some year heads did nothing about it. The Head was told to review his equality and diversity policy, and to provide refresher training for staff and students. I was to have a 'workplace assessment' and to be given a mentor to provide support in regular support meetings. It was recommended that there should be a review of pupil discipline procedure, in particular related to the abuse of staff members. Since the grievance which was in May and the workplace assessment which was in June, the Headteacher has totally ignored all of these recommendations. Has anybody else had similar problems with employers and anyone got suggestions for what should happen next?
Last Edit: 5 years 5 days ago by jhan.
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Re: Work Problems 5 years 5 days ago #1781

Hi Jhan,
I'm sorry to hear about the difficulties you've had within your school. We have an advocacy service which may be able to support you with this - if you call our Helpline (0845 458 6322 / 020 7793 3658) they can refer you to our advocate.
Chris
Forum Moderator
Trust Fundraiser & Communications Manager @ The Dystonia Society

Re: Work Problems 5 years 3 days ago #1785

• jhan
  • Junior Boarder
Thanks for your reply Chris. I would be interested in talking to you.

Re: Work Problems 4 years 11 months ago #1835

• deec